JKL TRANSLATIONS BERLIN

Katrin Zimmermann

Freelance translator and conference interpreter for Chinese, English and German since 2005, academic lecturer for conference interpreting Chinese-English/German.

A native German speaker, I was exposed to English from an early age and lived and worked in China and England for more than four years. I am a certified translator and interpreter for Chinese, English and German and member of the German Federal Association of Interpreters and Translators (BDÜ) and the Association of Conference Interpreters (VKD).

Education:

2002 M.A. in Sinology and English Literature, University of Tübingen
2004 MA in Translation and Interpreting Chinese-English, University of Newcastle upon Tyne

Preferred areas of expertise:

  • Environment/Renewable Energies
  • Development Aid and Cooperation
  • Politics/Economy
  • Automotive

Interpreting assignments at conferences, trade fairs, press conferences, product trainings and plant tours for various Federal Ministries, companies (Porsche, Siemens, BP, Deutsche Telekom, etc.), academic institutions (Free University of Berlin, Berlin Confucius Institute), market research companies, NGOs (German World Hunger Aid, Action against AIDS) and Foundations (Konrad-Adenauer Stiftung, StiftungWeltbevölkerung, and many more).

Translations for the European Patent Office, ZDF German Television et al.

Organisation and management of advanced level interpreting courses for Chinese at Mainz University in Germersheim, the German Cultural Centre in Taipei, the University of Zurich and the Confucius Institute Berlin.

Since 2010: Visiting lecturer for Interpreting Chinese-English at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.

2012-2017: Lecturer for Interpreting Chinese-German/English at University of Applied Languages Munich (SDI), Germany, 2014-2015: Lecturer for Interpreting Chinese-German at Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW), Switzerland.

2016: Visiting lecturer at Westminster University, UK.

(References upon request).

JKL TRANSLATIONS BERLIN

Katrin Zimmermann

Seit 2005 tätig als Konferenzdolmetscherin und Übersetzerin für die Sprachen Englisch, Deutsch und Chinesisch. Dozentin für Konferenzdolmetschen Chinesisch-Deutsch/Englisch an Universitäten im In- und Ausland.

In Deutschland aufgewachsen und mit der englischen Sprache von klein auf vertraut, habe ich insgesamt vier Jahre in China und England studiert und gearbeitet. Ich bin allgemein beeidigte und öffentlich bestellte Dolmetscherin und Übersetzerin für die englische und die chinesische Sprache des Landes Baden-Württemberg und Mitglied im Bundesverband der Übersetzer und Dolmetscher e.V. (BDÜ) und im Verband der Konferenzdolmetscher (VKD).

Ausbildung:

2002 M.A. in Sinologie und Neuere Englische Literatur, Universität Tübingen
2004 MA in Translation and Interpreting Chinese-English
University of Newcastle upon Tyne

Bevorzugte Fachgebiete:

  • Umwelt/Erneuerbare Energien
  • Entwicklungshilfe und -zusammenarbeit
  • Politik/Wirtschaft
  • Automobil

Dolmetscheinsätze bei Konferenzen, Messen, Pressekonferenzen, Produktschulungen und Werksbesichtigungen, für verschiedene Bundesministerien, Unternehmen (Porsche, Siemens, BP, Deutsche Telekom, etc.) akademische Einrichtungen (FU Berlin, Konfuzius-Institut Berlin), Marktforschungsinstitute, Nichtregierungsorganisationen (Deutsche Welthungerhilfe, Aktionsbündnis gegen AIDS) und Stiftungen (Konrad-Adenauer Stiftung, Stiftung Weltbevölkerung, u.v.a.).

Übersetzungen u.a. für das Europäische Patentamt und das ZDF.

Organisation und Leitung von weiterbildenden Dolmetschkursen für Chinesisch an der Universität Mainz/Germersheim, am Deutschen Kulturzentrum Taipei, der Universität Zürich und dem Konfuziusinstitut Berlin.

Seit 2010 Gastdozentin für Dolmetschen Chinesisch-Englisch an der Universität Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.

2012-2017 Dozentin für Dolmetschen Chinesisch-Deutsch/Englisch an der Hochschule für Angewandte Sprachen München (SDI)

2014-2015 Lehrbeauftragte für Dolmetschen Chinesisch-Deutsch an der Züricher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften (ZHAW).

Januar bis Oktober 2016 Visiting Lecturer an der University of Westminster, UK.

(Referenzen schicke ich gerne auf Anfrage).